Bamboo on location

So I’ve always wondered what it would be like to film something, you know, really get behind a camera and create a scene, one that reflects the vision you have in your head. Well, today I got it– that feeling that producers or directors or whoever is behind the camera must get, a sense of creating something greater than yourself, outside yourself.

Naturally, I was shooting bamboo ( I mean that’s the whole point of being all the way over here right? Well, besides the shopping of course).  I have decided (or rather Dr. Lantican and I have decided!) that my senior thesis should be based on the creation of a courseware on bamboo, one that can be distributed to local barangays, University classrooms, or to whoever wants to learn about planting bamboo. This way, bamboo trainers don’t have to go to every village and municipality that wants to use bamboo to improve their livelihood– they can learn at their own pace! We’ve been working  the past few weeks on the layout and design and today was the day to shoot the parts we think need video representation!

So there we were, arriving out in the countryside  at Dr. Lantican’s farm just after 2ish and the rain came pouring down the mountain, but hey, it’s the rainy season, so we just waited twenty minutes or so and then it was nice and muddy for us. We had created an outline earlier in the day so we started out right away, luckily we had 3 other people working with us (two to do the digging, planting and cutting and a third to carry around the speaker stand that came up to my chest and doubled as our tripod for the day, while also holding the umbrella over me and the camera!). We were quite the crew, cracking ourselves up over who was going to yell “Action!”, slipping around in the mud, and working our butts off.  Bamboo branches were cut, bamboo poles were unearthed and replanted, holes were dug, lines were marked off– it was a full days work. And the whole time I kept smiling to myself, thinking, “So this is what it feels like to be ‘on location’ and standing behind a camera”. The backdrop of the video shows green, fog encrusted mountains, with bamboo reaching to the sky all around, begging to be planted and processed. It was breathtaking. And by the end of it all I was wet, the mud had crept up past my shoes and was traveling up my pant legs, I was exhausted, and judging by the mirror reflections around me, I think everyone else was pretty wiped as well.

I don’t care if I sound cheesy, today was an *awesome* day! And I don’t know if I’ll ever get to do something like that again, but I hope so. It felt important- real. Now, if only the editing room looked just as enticing!

Hang gang sa muli,

vanessa

2 responses to this post.

  1. Look out Sundance! A new talent has arrived!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Wendy Robinson on July 21, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    I think your next career might be in documentary film making about Bamboo and Bamboo culture. I see it, you are destined to be a star. Hehehe 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

