Signing off… for now, anyway!

Well, I have finally arrived back in North Carolina. It was quite the journey traveling from Manila to Hawaii to LA to NC! But I have made it back in one piece with minimal jet-lag, and an appetite that only biscuits and gravy have quenched, along with home-baked (and store bought!) vegan chocolate chip cookies (something I dearly missed this summer!).

But it is a bitter-sweet end to my Summer adventures. I am glad to be home, of that there can be NO question, but the friends and family I made in the PI linger with me, tugging at the corners of my heart and urging me further along my path of life. I am indebted to all that have made my trip possible, from the Burch Fellowship staff and Mr. Burch himself, to my family, friends, mentors, people who let me work on their houses to help fund my trip (you know who you are!) and professors here in the States, and to my gracious and kind hosts, and family and friends in the PI. Thank you, thank you, thank you, from the bottom of my heart… thank you… er, salamat po!

It is one thing to be given the opportunity to make a difference in the world,which is, in part, what the Burch Fellowship has offered me and others, however, it is quite another to be given the chance to re-discover the history of your existence (the culture, food, decisions, and moments in time that were steps toward this life, this existence, in the US), while working toward environmentally sustainable, global solutions. For this I will be forever grateful.

I know that I will return. The PI is now a part of me, calling me back home, and I can’t wait to continue this journey.

It has only just begun!

Ipinagmamalaki ko ang aking lahing Pilipino.

BambooPhil Despidida!

(I am proud of my Filipino heritage)  **Thanks Cha for the translation help!

-Vanessa

2 responses to this post.

  1. I’m waiting for the book version of your blog!

    Reply

  2. Hello Vanessa!

    “Parting is such sweet sorro” but you have to do what you have to do. We will be here to welcome you back when the time comes. The Philippines is such a nice place for people like you who likes to take that road less travelled and make a difference.

    The mere act of coming to your roots is a monumental task already with all the temporary inconveniences. On the other hand, the way to go is always forward…sometimes fast forward. No rewind, no replay. Life can only be lived forward. So long…till we meet again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

